Our Leadership

IAVE was founded in 1970 by volunteers from throughout the world – and volunteers continue today to set its strategic direction and guide the organization’s work. The 13-person international Board of Directors, from 9 countries, meets quarterly, including one in-person meeting annually. The board represents both geographic regions and specific constituent groups.

The Executive Committee

The Chair of the IAVE Board of Directors is elected by the members to serve a four year term and is eligible to stand for re-election for an additional two year term. The other officers are elected by the board from its membership. The Chairs of committees are appointed by the Board Chair with approval of the board.

Together, they form the Executive Committee that meets and acts as needed between meetings of the board. The Executive Committee members are:

  • Ruth Lewin, South Africa, Board Chair
  • Matt Clausen, United States, Vice President
  • Wolfgang Krell, Germany, Treasurer, Chair of the WVC 2022 Host Search Committee and Chair of the Finance Committee
  • Osama Suliman, Sudan, Secretary
  • Carmen Chavarria, Guatemala, Chair of the Nominating Committee
  • Diane Solinger, United States, Chair of the Fundraising Committee
  • Yvette Tackie, Tanzania, Chair of the Global Youth Volunteer Summit

Board of Directors

Ruth Lewin
Chair of the Board of Directors

Karen Bergin
At Large Board Member

Carmen Chavarria
Chair of the Nominating Committee & Latin America Regional Representative

Matt Clausen
Vice Chair & North America Regional Representative

Wolfgang Krell
Treasurer, Chair of the WVC 2023 Host Search Committee, Chair of the Finance Committee & Europe Regional Representative

Nuntinee Malanon
Asia-Pacific Regional Representative

Diane Melley
At Large Board Member

Elizabeth Okezie
Africa Regional Representative

Carlos Palacios
At Large Board Member

Cathy Scott
At Large Board Member

Diane Solinger
Chair of the Fundraising Committee & Corporate Volunteering Representative

Osama Suliman
Secretary & Arab Nations Regional Representative

Yvette Tackie
Chair of the Global Youth Volunteer Summit & Youth Representative